A: The number of items in any given array can change depending on the source of the data. The best practice for customers is to code for N responses instead of a fixed number.
A: Extended Match supports all the Direct+ Data Products that are currently available. For details on the products and their attributes, please refer to the documentation:
A: Multi-Process returns only one result, the best candidate, and if service=extmatch, appends the data product provided in the input.
A: When a D-U-N-S Number is added to a Universe, an ENTER notification is included as well as a SEED notification if the registration has seed file = Yes. For more information please see, D-U-N-S Number Status Types.
A: An error will be included in the Exceptions file.
A: No, each registration includes one product and a set of D-U-N-S Numbers (list or dynamic universe) to be monitored.
A: There is no enforced limit. However, if there are multiple registrations for the same Product, there must be a valid reason. Registrations can be created temporarily for testing, but must be deleted once testing is completed.
A: The Suppress function is intended for short-term use. Dun & Bradstreet recommends notifications be suppressed for no more than a month. Instead of leaving notifications suppressed, the registration should be deleted and re-created when content can be consumed again. Dun & Bradstreet will be enforcing this policy by contacting customers with suppressed notifications.
A: Customers will receive a single set of changes where the previous value is the last value delivered before the notifications were suppressed, and the current value is the value of the last change before the notifications are delivered.
A: This depends on the delivery method and length of down time.
A: All changes that occur in a single day for DAILY registrations are aggregated into a single DUNS record. A single D-U-N-S Number may appear more than once in a single notification file. Most often this is because the D-U-N-S Number has status changes as well as content changes.
Note that it is also possible for the same D-U-N-S Number to have more than one UPDATE notification under some circumstances, for example, when notifications are held by Dun & Bradstreet during a maintenance period. All notifications for a single D-U-N-S Number are in the same notification file and grouped together (ordered by date and time in ascending order).
A: While it is unlikely, it is possible that the same D-U-N-S Number will have more than one UPDATE notification in a single package (file or messages).
A: When registration notifications are suppressed, the system aggregates the changes for each day into a single UPDATE notification. The previous value is the last value delivered before the notifications were suppressed and the current value is the value of the last change before the notifications are delivered.
When notifications are suspended during a maintenance window, the updates are individually collected and all are sent when delivery resumes. This provides you with all the interim changes that occurred during the maintenance window.
Notifications are grouped by D-U-N-S Number and sorted in ascending order, so process notifications in order, top to bottom, and your data will be correct.
Notifications are suppressed for 31 days. If the contract has not been renewed, the Registration is deleted.
A: If the content is new to Direct+, notifications are created for those elements since the loading of values occurs after the element is added to the product. However, if content already exists in the Direct+ system and is later added to a product, it is not considered a value change and does not trigger a notification. In such cases, customers will need to re-seed to get the new elements. Release communications and change history will include the necessary information on new elements.
A: If an element is removed from a product, it is considered a breaking change and the product is versioned. There is no impact to the current version. To monitor the new version, a new registration must be created. Please see the Using Direct+ APIs page for more information on versioning.
A: As long as the path is still part of the product, notification still apply. If the value becomes null, a notification is triggered. If a path is completely removed from the product, it is versioned. There is no impact on the current version. To monitor the new version, a new registration must be created. Please see the Using Direct+ APIs page for more information on versioning.
The following questions are available on staging for internal users only.
A: No it does not. Direct 2.0 does, but Direct+ only requires API credentials.
A: There are two documentation sites.
WADL is XML. We use JSON for developing and documenting our APIs. Instead of WADL, we provide Swagger JSON. Swagger files for customer-available products and capabilities can be found on the Resources tab of the documentation site: